Contributor |

Thiam Chin

O THIAM CHIN is the winner of the inaugural Epigram Books Fiction Prize, the richest literary award in Singapore, with a S$20,000 prize and a publishing contract with Epigram Books. In addition to the prize-winning Now That It's Over, he is the author of five collections of short fictiion: Free-Falling Man (2006), Never Been Better (2009), Under the Sun (2010), The Rest of Your Life and Everything That Comes With It (2011) and Love, or Something Like Love (2013), shortlisted for the 2014 Singapore Literature Prize for Fiction.

His short stories have appeared in MānoaWorld Literature TodayThe International Literary QuarterlyAsia Literary ReviewQuarterly Literary Review SingaporeCha: An Asian Literary JournalKyoto JournalThe Jakarta PostThe New Straits TimesAsiatic and Esquire (Singapore). His short fiction was also selected for the first two volumes of The Epigram Books Collection of Best New Singaporean Short Stories anthology series.

O was an honorary fellow of the Iowa International Writing Program in 2010, a recipient of the NAC Young Artist Award in 2012, and has been thrice longlisted for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award. He has appeared frequently at writers’ festivals in Australia, Indonesia and Singapore.

Photo © Allan Siew of Epigram Books

In ALR31 - an extract from Now That It's Over. Click here to buy Issue 31 or subscribe to the ALR.

Previously in the ALR:

Fireworks - Volume 9, Autumn 2008

Turning a Blind Eye - Volume 11, Spring 2009

Grasshoppers - Volume 16, Summer 2010

Buy O Thiam Chin's books here:

Visit the ALR Bookshop for more featured authors and titles.


Contributions to ALR

Fiction - No. 32, Winter 2016